WIP story starter

“Just pretend it’s chicken,” I reminded myself. I tried to smile as I took delicate bites, knowing that my hosts were watching me. After I swallowed a few morsels, they began eating as well.

“So how long are you planning to stay?” This was from the woman.

“Just until I find what I need.”

“And that would be … ?”

“A father for my baby.”

The silence was deafening. Actually, it did sound like the man choked on something. I couldn’t help it. It wasn’t my idea to return to this planet and mate, especially with a male. I was quite happy with A’Tira, thank you very much!

Unfortunately, having a womb carried with it certain requirements. I only, by law, had to give birth once though. I wasn’t also required to raise the child myself if I didn’t want to. I hadn’t even thought about that part yet. I just wanted to find, um, a donor, and get it over with.

“Have anyone in mind, dear?”

“Well, no. I don’t know where to start.” I ate another bite of the … chicken.

Leave a Reply

