Loretta

She had a large mirror
on her dresser.
She pointed to her reflection
and said in a
conspiratorial whisper
“She just got married.”

Who?
“That young girl
down by the fence.
I talke to her every morning.
She’s having a hard time
adjusting to married life.”

Then she told me
about the dog that visited her,
here at Devon Gables
where no animals are allowed.

One day I brought
a fresh water pitcher
into her room
and almost tripped
over her daughter’s dog.

As I left
I checked the mirror again,
just in case.

Leave a Reply

